Week of 4/16

What did you do this past week?

This past week I worked on finishing up the Life project, including writing unit tests and acceptance tests and constructing the UML diagram. Also, in class we talked about virtual methods and how that allows us to dynamically choose which methods to use at runtime based on the type of object.

What’s in your way?

Nothing right now. The last project was just turned in so I don’t have anything to look forward to besides the final in 2 weeks.

What will you do next week?

I guess now is as good of a time as ever to start reviewing stuff for the final exam. Since it’s going to be comprehensive I’m really going to have to reach back to stuff that I haven’t looked at for a long time, such as lambda functions, since we haven’t really dealt with those besides talking about them in class once.

What’s your experience of the class?

As the semester wraps up I think about what I learned in this class and realize that I gained a lot of functional knowledge. A class like operating systems is really time consuming and difficult but in that class I didn’t feel like I was really learning a lot of stuff that I’d be applying in the future. But at least for this class, I’m pretty sure that most of the actual work I’ll do will be like the stuff I’ve learned this semester.

What’s your pick-/tip-of-the-week?

I read this article about the coding standards at NASA to create extremely safe programs. It’s probably not applicable to normal programming, but it’s interesting to see what safety features are present in probably the safest programs around.

Leave a Reply

